skincare … my morning routine

Lets start at the very beginning, I’m 38 so my skincare is aimed at reducing signs of ageing, dealing with oily skin, spots and pigmentation. I started being interested in skincare around age 30 and only seriously upped my game about 4 years ago. It’s never too early or too late to start looking after your skin, so if you have some of the same issues as me read on, I hope you’ll find this helpful.

July 2016 AM Skincare Routine

Cleanse – Yes, you do need to cleanse in the morning (ahem Caroline Hirons). Cleansing will remove any product left from the night before (note I didn’t say make-up, that should have been removed already), it will remove any oiliness so you’ll start the day with a fresh canvas. Morning cleanse products don’t need to be expensive, they just need to clean. I’ve used micellar water in the past but my spotty skin does like Paula’s Choice CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser. A tuppence size blob is enough, this product doesn’t lather up into a foamy mess and my skin doesn’t feel squeaky clean after rinsing. Both these things are good. I find if I strip my skin of all oils it makes up for it during the day and leaves me even more dehydrated (yes, oily skin can be dehydrated).

Tone – I love a bit of acid toning, in the morning I reach for my Paula’s Choice RESIST Daily Pore-Refining Treatment 2% BHA. Beta Hydroxy Acids are targeted towards signs of ageing, this gentle exfoliant will unclog pores and smooth skin’s texture. If your skin is super sensitive skip this and use something more geared towards your skin type. I tip a few drops into my palm and slap it on my face (using a cotton wool pad just seems to waste product). I find this combination of cleanser and toner from Paula’s Choice really reduces my break-outs.

Eyes – I’ve used eye cream for years, no idea if it makes any difference but I use it all the same. I don’t spend a lot in this area, so Botanics Hydrating Eye Serum is enough for me, a rice grain size blob, share between ring fingers and gently pat around the eye. Concealer glides on well after this but I haven’t found anything which stops it creasing by the end of the day.

Serum – As I’ve mentioned, my skin is dehydrated so I add non-greasy moisture whenever I can. Hylamide Low-Molecular HA is a gel-like serum which adds a kick of moisture to my skin. I use two drops/blobs on my fingers and spread on my face. It sinks in well and preps my skin for make-up.

Moisturiser – And we’re back on the Paula’s Choice wagon, RESIST Super-Light Daily Wrinkle Defense has SPF 30 (important to use SPF all year but especially after using any acids), has a slight tint (ideal for days when I don’t wear make-up) and sinks in well. I use a five-pence size blob (maybe slightly bigger) and slap it everywhere including down my neck (actually I use all these products down my neck, apart from eye cream of course).

Oil – Yes, I have oily skin and yes, I use oils on my face. I’ve found oils help reduce my skin from creating their own spot-inducing oil and this one really helps rebalance my skin (my skin is less oily now than when I started using this 6 months ago). L’Oreal Extraordinary Facial Oil Rebalancing is lovely, I use 3-4 drops in the morning and let it sink in before applying make-up. My skins loves this.

I’ve been using this combination for several months and it works for me. I’d love to hear about your favourite skincare products for mornings or if you’ve tried any of the above products.

**This post is not sponsored, I paid for all products with my own money, no press samples here**

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

