books … recently read

My previous blog was a book review one (The Bookish Reader) but I was finding it difficult to read as much as I wanted to and still post one review a week (reading a book takes a long time!). But I hope to give you brief reviews about once a month of the last 4 books I’ve read.

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins – I’m so late to the party on this but it was worth the wait. Believe the hype about this book, it’s excellent. It’s about Rachel, a lonely divorcee, who imagines the lives of the people who live in the houses she sees from her commuter train. Only things start to get very real and very weird. I was gripped from the start and finished this in about 2 days. Highly recommended.

The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah – I’m a huge Agatha Christie fan so was excited but slightly sceptical when this came out. I wasn’t blown away by this story, I didn’t like the new police inspector Sophie introduced to work with Hercule but the mystery was good with lots of twists and turns like the original stories. It’s a good murder mystery but I was disappointed as a Poirot fan.

The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick – This was great, a lovely story of an old widower discovering a charm bracelet owned by his wife and he sets off to find out what each of the charms mean. On his journey he discovers surprises about his wife’s life, meets new friends and finds a new lease on life. A heart-warming easy read, ideal for holidays and I’ll be looking out for more from this author.

The Unseeing by Anna Mazzola – Sarah Gale is sentenced to hang for murder in 19th century London, based on a true story. She was a housekeeper for a single man who was accused of killing his fiancĂ©e, Sarah claims she knows nothing about the murder but it’s clear she does. A lawyer is asked to look into the case again (early version of an appeal court), will he discover the truth? A really good read, I liked the history of it and the characters were excellently written.

What’s been your recent favourite read?

Leave a Reply

