Organisation … Bullet Journal

Bullet Journalling combines two loves for me, stationery and organisation. I love notebooks, I don’t think you can have enough, but I never knew what to do with them. I tried a daily diary but it’d last about two days and then I’d forget. I tried a gratitude journal but I struggled to think of different things everyday I was grateful for (that makes me sound sad, but I found myself being grateful for the same things for days on end; health, relationships, home etc).

Then I discovered BuJos (that’s Bullet Journals to the uninitiated) early this year when Lily Pebbles mentioned she started one. Yes, it’s true, I am completely un-original and all my ideas come from You Tube. I quickly Googled it and found Kara from Boho Berry who explained it all fabulously.

Basically a bullet journal is a glorified to do list, it’s been built on and expanded but it’s a list. I create my layouts in a notebook (Leuchtturm 1917, dotted A5), this is what works for me after lots of trail and error. If you search for BuJo layouts in Pinterest, Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, anywhere you will find more ideas than you can shake a stick at.

For the moment, I’ve settled on a weekly layout, which I’ll go through in more detail now.

BuJo Week 1First off I divide my page into days of the week, I usually do this on a Sunday before the week begins (it makes me feel very organised and zen to start my week knowing what’s going on).

I have my appointments on the left-hand side, these are things happening on specific days. I also add in my exercise (in green) I’m planning on doing to remind me to make time for it.

On the right-hand side are my daily to do lists, these are things I need to do (or plan on doing) on a specific day.

BuJo Week 2

On the next page are my lists, I love a good list, it feels good to get all the stuff out of my brain and onto the page.

My evening meal plan, I use this to plan my grocery shopping list. I find it easier to make sure I’m eating enough protein and oily fish if I have it written in front of me.

My blogger to do list is everything I need to do for my blog that week, it’s mostly photos and prep for blog posts but occasionally I throw in a bigger goal, like improving my photo set-up or a tutorial to improve my blog.

At the bottom is my to buy list, this is never ending and I add to it constantly. I try not to impulse buy, but add things to my list as I think of them or hear a recommendation (I’m looking at you YouTube again). Then after a while, if I still want it then I can buy it. A good example here is I wanted a few new nail colours, but after going through my stash I realised I already had those colours, so I brought them out and will use them next.

On the right-hand side of the page is my general to do list, things I need to do next week and my tracker. I use my tracker to remind myself to do things everyday, I mark off when I do them then by the end of the week I can see if I’m keeping up.

And that’s it. Pretty simple, but it works for me. I like the flexibility of the notebook set up so if I need to write some ideas down, plan a project or create a packing list I can just go to the next page and do it there. Then I have all my notes and ideas in one place as well as my to do lists.

As you can see in the photos above, a BuJo doesn’t have to be perfect. When I set up this week I got the dates wrong so had to go back and change them. I don’t worry about making mistakes, it still works and I don’t want to waste paper just to make it look perfect.

Keep an eye on my Instagram and I’ll post up what this layout looks like at the end of the week.

I hope you’ve found this useful, how do you set up your BuJo? Or has this inspired you to start one?

 

2 thoughts on “Organisation … Bullet Journal

Leave a Reply

